Save Draft allows a user to keep a working/draft copy of a page without worrying if the content will be published before it's finished. For example, if you wish to update a page but there is a piece of information you are waiting on you can open the original, make the edits you can and save a draft - then when you get the final piece of information you can add that to your draft and overwrite the original. While you make edits to your draft, if someone publishes the page only the original will be published - not your draft. Each user's draft is independent, and thus multiple drafts may exist for one asset.
Saving a Draft
To save a draft, select Save Draft at the bottom of the Edit page.
When editing a draft, selecting Update Draft updates the draft but does not effect the publishable original page. Select this option when making interim updates, but you do not want the original page to be overwritten yet.
Submitting Draft and overwriting the Original
When editing a draft, selecting Submit replaces the original page with the current draft version. This is intended for use when all interim updates have been completed.
Editing Original Page
The original page may be edited while a draft exists; however, submitting the original pagedoes not operate as normal. Upon submitting an original page while a draft exists, you will be presented with two choices:
- Submit, which saves the edited page and discards any drafts
- Update Draft, which will save your current edits as a draft while leaving the original page untouched. While Update Draft may be a good option when you'd like to restart your draft edits from the original page, it is not the recommended means of drafting.