Stillman Prize for Excellence in Teaching

The Stillman Prize was created by Abbott L. Stillman '69, member of the College's Board of Trustees, David Stillman '72 and Allan Stillman in honor of Abraham Stillman, father and grandfather. The Stillman family has endowed this prize for the purpose of rewarding a teacher "... who can make a classroom a place which combines excitement, joy, and challenge."

Faculty members are nominated by students for the prize, which is awarded to a faculty member each year. The winner is chosen by the Committee on Teaching & Advising (COTA) after interviews with students and reviews of supporting letters, from a list of finalists shortlisted by the Student Nominating Committee.

The winner will be announced at the Commencement ceremony and awarded at the Opening Convocation.

The 2016 Stillman Prize is awarded to William Keat, Professor of Mechanical Engineering.

2016 Letter from Dean of the Faculty and Committee of Teaching and Advising

Selection Process and Criteria

Past Recipients