1. Union Home
  2. About
  3. Office of the President
  4. Leadership

Leadership Team

Union College is led by President Stephen Charles Ainlay, a sociologist by training with a distinguished record as a scholar, teacher and administrator. President Ainlay was inaugurated in July, 2006, and along with the Board of Trustees, oversees the direction of the college.

President Ainlay, Ph.D. has seven direct reports who oversee College operations:

  • Diane Blake, Vice President for Finance and Administration 
  • Terri Cerveny, Vice President for College Relations
  • Gretchel Hathaway, Ph.D., Chief Diversity Officer
  • Stephen Leavitt, Ph.D., Vice President for Student Affairs and Dean of Students
  • Matthew Malatesta, Vice President for Admissions, Financial Aid and Enrollment
  • Strom Thacker, Ph.D., Vice President for Academic Affairs and the Stephen J. and Diane K. Ciesinski Dean of the Faculty