Campus Diversity & Inclusion

Subcommittees and charge

Based on the recommendations from the Presidential Initiatives on Race, Power & Privilege, the Presidential Committee on Diversity, Equity and Inclusion (DEI) has developed four sub-committees to examine and identify gaps and strengths in relations to DEI effort in four areas: Cultural Competency, Community Engagement/Programming, Student Recruitment and Retention as well as Faculty/Staff Recruitment and Retention.

Each sub-committee is co-chaired by two members from our Union Community and memberships are made up of students, faculty and staff.

Cultural-Competency - Focuses on ongoing professional development opportunities to enhance cultural competency at student, faculty and staff level

Co-Chairs - Beth Tiffany, Associate Director of Athletics & Dr. Jillmarie Murphy, Professor of English and Director of Gender, Sexuality, & Women's Studies

Saahil Cuccria, Admissions Counselor
Peter Gabak, Senior Major Gifts Officer
Christa Grant, Assistant Dean for Intercultural Affairs & Chief Diversity Officer
Sofia Herzog '23, Student
Amanda Iverson, Director of Residential Life
Dr. Erika Nelson Mukherjee, Associate Professor of German Studies (Co-chair for Spring 2021)
Robyn Reed, Head of Access Services, Schaffer Library
Ryan Ribeiro, Director of Community Standards
Sonia Sandoval '16, Learning Environments Services Specialist
Aileen Schatz, Director of First-Year Experience
Jared Zeidman, Associate Head Coach Women’s Basketball

Community Engagement/Programming - Focuses on accessibility and visibility of programming, events, and functions of campus community & Greater Capital Region engagement.

Co-Chairs - Jen Jerussi, Director of Greek Life & Blair Raymond, Director of Strategic Initiatives and External Relations

Kevin Barhydt, Senior Inclusive & Learning Technology Analyst
Lauren Dougherty, Director of Student Activities
Zoe Flessas-Finocche ‘23, Student & History/Symbols Committee Representative
Debra Geer, Senior Director for Advancement Communications & Donor Relations
Chris Hayen, Director of Campus Safety
Damond Heath ‘10, Sr. Associate Director of Alumni & Parent Engagement
Fareeza Islam, Associate Director of Residential Life
Laura Munkres, Director of Minerva Programs
Leah Pelish '07, UNITAS Co-Convener
Janet Sweeney, Director of Kenney Center
Mary Simeoli, Esq., Title IX Coordinator & Chief Diversity Officer
Shelly Harrington, Director of Accommodative Services
Carol Weisse, Professor of Psychology & Director of Health Professions
Derek Zuckerman, Class Dean for Class of 2021

Student Recruitment & Retention - Focuses on strategies to diversify student populations by intentional recruitment and effective retention efforts

Co-Chairs - Michael Moore, Associate Dean of Admissions, Coordinator of Multicultural Recruitment & Dr. Michelle Osborn, Class Dean for Class of 2023

Dru Alvez, Assistant Director of Intercultural Director & Chief Diversity Officer
Vernon Castillo, Senior Associate Dean of Admissions
Amelia Comper, Residence Director - Residential Life
Bonnie Cramer, Spiritual Director for Union College Hillel
Abby Jackson, Head Women’s Lacrosse Coach
Mohamed Kaid ‘24, Student
Haley Kresh ‘24, Student
Philip Poczik, Director of HEOP/AOP
Michelle Pawlowski, Assistant Director of International Advising
Brianna Turner-Douglas ‘22, Student

Staff/Faculty Recruitment/Retention - Focuses on identifying strategies to diversify college workforce by intentional recruitment and effective retention efforts

Co-Chairs - Dr. Jenny Fredricks, Dean of Academic Departments and Programs & Beth Glassman, JD, Interim Chief Human Resources Officer

Ginny Casper, Assistant Director of International Programs
Dr. David Cotter, Professor of Sociology & Director of Faculty Development
Dr. Deidre Hill-Butler, Associate Professor of Sociology & Chief Academic Diversity Officer
Rachel McNeil '18, Assistant Dean of Admissions
Jim Meagher, Director of Union Hospitality
Matt Milless, Assistant Dean of Students
Dr. Kaywana Raeburn, Feigenbaum Assistant Professor of Behavioral Economics
Brittany Rapp, Assistant Director of Human Resources
Karen Radley, Assistant Manager of Union Bookstore
Loren Rucinski, Director of Facilities & Planning

If you have any questions regarding the DEI committee, please email