Department of Economics

Faculty

Smriti Bhargava

Visiting Assistant Professor of Economics

B.A., Delhi University; M.A., Gokhale Institute of Politics and Economics; Ph.D., Clemson University

Areas of expertise: Labor economics; development economics; applied econometrics; family economics; health economics;economics of education

Karp Hall 118
 (518) 388-6229
 bhargavs@union.edu

Dong Cheng

Assistant Professor of Economics

B.A., M.A., Renmin University of China; M.A., Ph.D., Vanderbilt University

Areas of expertise: macroeconomics; international trade and macroeconomics

Lippman Hall 204
 (518) 388-7067
 chengd@union.edu

Lewis Davis

Professor of Economics

B.S., Davidson College; Ph.D., University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Areas of expertise: Development economics; econometrics

Lippman Hall 118
 (518) 388-8395
 davisl@union.edu

 

Funda Dogruer

Visiting Assistant Professor of Economics

B.S., Ankara University; M.S., Western Kentucky University; Ph.D., Texas Tech University

Areas of expertise:  international macroeconomics; mathematical economics; fiscal policy

Lippman Hall 207
 (518) 388-7065
 dogruerf@union.edu

 

 

Tomas Dvorak

Professor of Economics

B.A., Prague School of Economics; M.A., Central European University; Ph.D., University of Maryland

Areas of expertise:  international finance; data analytics

Lippman Hall 207
 (518) 388-8016
 dvorakt@union.edu

 

 

Jeeten Krishna Giri

Visiting Assistant Professor of Economics

B.S., M.S., M.A., University of Calcutta; Ph.D., Southern Illinois University

Areas of expertise:  applied micro-econometrics; international trade; international finance and development economics

Lippman Hall 103
 (518) 388-7066
 girij@union.edu

 

 

Ercan Karadas

Visiting Assistant Professor of Economics

B.A., Bogazici University; M.S.c, Ankara University; M.S., Pompeu Fabra University; Ph.D., New York University

Areas of expertise:  business cycles; economic growth; marco-finance; monetary policy; central banking;general equilibrium theory

Schaffer Library 203
 (518) 388-6237
 karadase@union.edu

 

 

Bradley G. Lewis

Professor of Economics

B.A., Carleton College; M.A., Ph.D., University of Chicago

Areas of expertise: Financial markets; economic history

Lippman Hall 220
 (518) 388-6089
 lewisb@union.edu

FULL PROFILE

 

Therese A. McCarty

John Prior Lewis ’41 Professor of Economics

A.B., Bryn Mawr College; A.M., Ph.D., University of Michigan

Areas of expertise:  public finance; economics of education

Lippman Hall 114
 (518) 388-6045
 mccartyt@union.edu

Eshragh Motahar

Professor of Economics

B.Sc., M.Sc., University of London; Ph.D., Johns Hopkins University

Areas of expertise:  macroeconomics; monetary economics; investment theory

Lippman Hall 219
 (518) 388-6065
 motahare@union.edu

Mary O’Keeffe

Adjunct Professor of Economics

Ph.D., Harvard University

Areas of expertise: public finance; income tax policy and practice

 (518) 388-7018
 okeeffem@union.edu

-

Kaywana Raeburn

Feigenbaum Assistant Professor of Behavioral Economics

B.S., University of West Indies; M.A., Ph.D., McGill University

Areas of expertise: behavioral, experimental and development economics

Lippman Hall 104
 (518) 388-6879
 raeburnk@union.edu

Stephen J. Schmidt

Professor of Economics

A.B., Ph.D., Stanford University

Areas of expertise: industrial organization; regulatory economics; economic history

Lippman Hall 209
 (518) 388-6078
 schmidsj@union.edu

Shelton S. Schmidt

Chauncey H. Winters Professor of Economic Thought

A.B., Ph.D., University of Virginia

Areas of expertise: industrial organization; econometrics; efficiency measurement

Lippman Hall 218
 (518) 388-6218
 schmidts@union.edu

Mehmet Fuat Sener

Professor of Economics

B.S., Middle East Technical University; M.S., London School of Economics; Ph.D., University of Florida

Areas of expertise: international economics; economic growth; labor economics

Lippman Hall 119
 (518) 388-7093
 senerm@union.edu

Younghwan Song

Professor of Economics

B.A., M.A., Seoul National University; M. Phil., Ph.D., Columbia University

Areas of expertise: labor economics; poverty, welfare and health

Lippman Hall 121
 (518) 388-8043
 songy@union.edu

Suthathip Yaisawarng

Thomas Armstrong Professor of Economics

B.B.A., Thammasat University, Thailand; M.B.A., Howard University; Ph.D., Southern Illinois University

Areas of expertise: efficiency measurement; microeconomic theory; mathematical programming techniques

Lippman Hall 213
 (518) 388-6606
 yaisawas@union.edu