Mechanical Engineering

Faculty and Staff

Andrew J. Rapoff

Thomas J. Watson, Sr. and Emma Watson Day Professor of Mechanical Engineering

rapoff@union.edu

Teaching subjects: Engineering Mechanics, Astrodynamics, Aircraft Structures, Mechanical Design and Bioengineering

Research areas: Physical Anthropology, Biomimetic Structures, Bone Mechanics, Orthopedic Devices and Aircraft Structural

Ann M. Anderson

Agnes S. Macdonald Professor of Mechanical Engineering; Director of Energy Studies

andersoa@union.edu

Teaching subjects: Heat transfer, fluid mechanics, thermodynamics, mechanics, engineering economics and thermal fluids design

Research areas: Heat transfer and fluid mechanics, experimental methods and design of experiments, liquid crystal thermography and particle image velocimetry, aerogel materials

Bradford Bruno

Professor of Mechanical Engineering

brunob@union.edu

Teaching subjects: Thermodynamics, heat transfer and fluid mechanics

Research areas: Internal combustion engines, spray atomization and droplet breakup, laser diagnostic methods for combustion and flow field measurements.

Ronald Bucinell

Associate Professor of Mechanical Engineering

bucinelr@union.edu

Teaching subjects: Engineering mechanics and design

Research areas: Mechanics of composite materials, experimental mechanics, fracture mechanics and statistical experimental design

Rebecca Cortez

Associate Professor of Mechanical Engineering

cortezr@union.edu

Teaching subjects: Heat transfer, fluid mechanics, thermodynamics, mechanics, engineering economics and thermal fluids design

Research areas: Heat transfer and fluid mechanics, experimental methods and design of experiments, liquid crystal thermography and particle image velocimetry, aerogel materials

Pradeep Gudlur

Visiting Assistant Professor of Mechanical Engineering

gudlurp@union.edu

Teaching subjects: Advanced Mechanics, Statics, Engineering Graphics, Strength of Materials

Research areas: manufacturing of composites, welding metallurgy for corrosive atmospheres, thermo-mechanical testing at elevated temperatures, nondestructive testing, plasticity, failure modes of thick pipes, finite element analysis

Ali M. Hamed

Assistant Professor of Mechanical Engineering

hameda@union.edu

Teaching subjects: Fluid Mechanics and Heat Transfer

Research areas: fluid mechanics, wall-bounded turbulence, environmental flows, convective heat transfer, flow measurement techniques.

David Hodgson

Thomas J. Watson Sr. and Emma Watson Day Associate Professor of Mechanical Engineering

hodgsond@union.edu

Teaching subjects: Controls, mechanics, thermodynamics, and mechatronics

Research areas: Applied Embedded Control, Control of thermofluid systems, Building Energy Modeling

William Keat

Professor of Mechanical Engineering

keatw@union.edu

Teaching subjects: Design and solid mechanics

Research areas: Development of new computational methodologies for the study of 3D fracture processes including such applications as fracture growth near bimaterial interfaces, fatigue crack growth in structural components and nondestructive detection of cracks based on inversion of surface deformations

Joel Lefever

Visiting Assistant Professor of Mechanical Engineering

lefeverj@union.edu

Teaching subjects: Materials Science, Strength of Materials, and Advanced Mechanics

Research areas: Disordered materials, plasticity, small-scale mechanical testing, nanotribology

Ashok Ramasubramanian

Associate Professor of Mechanical Engineering

ramasuba@union.edu

Teaching subjects: Controls, solid mechanics and mechatronics

Research areas: Embryonic heart and gut development mechanics

Abraham Tchako

Lecturer in Mechanical Engineering

tchakoa@union.edu

Teaching subjects: Engineering Graphics, CAD, Solid Mechanics, Manufacturing, Bioengineering, Introductory Engineering

Research areas: Bioengineering, FEM, CAD/CAM

Shawn D. Wehe

Visiting Assistant Professor of Mechanical Engineering

wehes@union.edu

Teaching subjects: Thermodynamics 1, Fluid Mechanics Lab

Shawn D. Wehe

Richard Wilk

Professor of Mechanical Engineering

wilkr@union.edu

Teaching subjects: Thermodynamics, fluid mechanics, heat transfer, design of thermal fluid systems, solar energy, renewable energy and environmental science

Research areas: Alternative and advanced energy conversion systems

Stanley Gorski

Technology Coordinator in Mechanical Engineering

gorskis@union.edu

Stan Gorski

Rhonda Becker

Administrative Assistant

beckerr@union.edu

Rhonda Becker