Skip to content

People in the news - May 2013

Bunkong Tuon, assistant professor of English, will host a reading at 7:30 p.m. Monday, May 20 at the Spring Street Gallery, 110 Spring St., Saratoga Springs. The reading is part of a series co-sponsored by the gallery and the Adirondack Center for Writing. Tuon’s reading will focus on his writings on identity and ethnicity, home and belonging after being carried out of Cambodia on jungle trails on his grandmother’s back during the rule of the Khmer Rouge.

Associate Professor of Economics Lewis Davis presented a talk at Bryant University’s Center for Global and Regional Economic Studies. “Social Comparisons and Life Satisfaction across Racial and Ethnic Groups: The Effects of Status, Information and Solidarity” was based on joint research conducted with Stephen Wu of Hamilton College. 

Andrew Rapoff, associate professor of mechanical engineering and director of the Engineering Department, presented research at the annual meeting of the American Association of Physical Anthropologists in Knoxville, Tenn. His research is titled “Effect of Posterior Curvature on the Bending Strength of Maxillary Canines in Cercopithecoid Monkeys.” Rapoff presented with Nikolay Garabedian ’14, Scott McGraw of Ohio State University and David Daegling of the University of Florida. The research was supported by National Science Foundation grants to Rapoff and his faculty colleagues. 

Deidre Hill Butler, associate professor of sociology and director of the Africana Studies program, was interviewed on “Impact,” a local current events TV show. Butler spoke about the “Impact of Women on Society,” focusing on the influence of First Lady Michelle Obama on today’s women. 

On behalf of the College, President Stephen C. Ainlay accepted a "Good News" award from the Chamber of Schenectady County at a ceremony Thursday. Union was honored for its distinction of being the first American college or university to be designed with a comprehensive plan, and for its contributions to the region for more than 200 years. To read more about the award, click here.