1. Union Home
  2. Offices & Services
  3. Becker Career Center
  4. Students
  5. Job Search Resources
  6. Gap Year Opportunities

Gap Year Opportunities

Gap Year Opportunities are typically one to two year post-graduate programs (length of time varies). Some may lead to full-time career opportunities while many will be short term experiences that help recent graduates further define their next step or longer term interests. These programs can include a stipend or may be on a volunteer basis.

Minerva Fellows Program

See Dean Tom McEvoy in the Minerva Programs Office, Campus Center for application information

Fellowship Opportunities http://muse.union.edu/fellowships/

Contact Lynn Evans (evansl@union.edu) for additional information

Non Profit Organization database Idealist.org

Gap Year Programs list from Goucher College http://www.goucher.edu/career-development-office/for-students/gap-year     

Gap Year & Fellowships from Davidson College http://www.davidson.edu/offices/career-development/students/jobs-and-fellowships/fellowships-and-service-corps  Includes: Environment, Health & Medical, International: NGO, Service, Cultural Exchange, Language, International Teaching, Journalism, Non-profit, Policy & Government, Private/Independent School Education, Public School Education, Social Entrepreneurship

Oberlin College Gap Year of Service Programs https://new.oberlin.edu/office/career-center/go/gap-year/service.dot

Oberlin College Teaching Programs https://new.oberlin.edu/office/career-center/go/gap-year/teaching-fellowships.dot

Service Year Exchange https://serviceyear.org/

Select Individual Programs

Amate House www.amatehouse.org  

AmeriCorps www.americorps.gov/

AmeriCorpsNCCC www.americorps.gov/about/programs/nccc.asp

Americorps: FEMA Corps  www.nationalservice.gov/programs/americorps/fema-corps

AVODAH: The Jewish Service Corps www.avodah.net/

Brethren Volunteer Service www.brethren.org/bvs

Camphill Soltane www.camphillsoltane.org/

Catholic Network of Volunteer Services https://catholicvolunteernetwork.org/

Centerstage Professional Internship Program www.centerstage.org 

City Year www.cityyear.org

Concern America www.concernamerica.org

Congressional Hunger Center Fellowships www.hungercenter.org

Conservancy of Southwest Florida-6 month internships www.conservancy.org

Cuso International www.cusointernational.org

Eagle Bluff Environmental Learning Center www.eagle-bluff.org

Eckerd Youth Alternatives www.eckerd.org

Foothill Horizons Outdoor School www.foothillhorizons.com

Fulbright Teacher Exchange www.fulbrightteacherexchange.org  

Full Belly Farm www.fullbellyfarm.com

Good Shepherd Volunteers www.goodshepherdvolunteers.org

Gould Farm www.gouldfarm.org

Green Corps' Environmental Leadership Program www.greencorps.org/

Hidden Villa www.hiddenvilla.org

Hulbert Outdoor Center www.alohafoundation.org/hulbert

The Accelerate Institute www.accelerateinstitute.org

International Field Studies www.intlfieldstudies.org

Jesuit Volunteer Corps www.jesuitvolunteers.org

JET http://www.sf.us.emb-japan.go.jp/itpr_en/JET.html

Jewish Organizing Institute & Network www.jewishorganizing.org/

Kieve-Wavus Education www.kieve.org 

Corporation for National & Community Service www.nationalservice.gov

Little Brothers www.littlebrothers.org  

Loch Arthur Community www.locharthur.org.uk/

Lutheran Volunteer Corps  www.lutheranvolunteercorps.org/

MATCH Education www.matcheducation.org/

Mercy Volunteer Corps www.mercyvolunteers.org/

Milwaukee Community Service Corps www.milwaukeecommunityservicecorps.org/

Mission Springs Conference Center www.missionsprings.com

New Morning Farm www.newmorningfarm.net/   

New Sector Residency in Social Ent.  (RISE) http://www.newsector.org/content/summer-fellowship

New Stage Theatre www.newstagetheater.com

The New Teacher Project (TNTP) https://tntp.org/

Newfound Harbor Marine Institute www.nhmi.org

Northwest Youth Corps www.nwyouthcorps.org/

Orlando Shakespeare Theater-Apprenticeship www.orlandoshakes.org

Peace Corps ww.peacecorps.gov

Philly Fellows ww.phillyfellows.org/

Pocono Environmental Education Center www.peec.org

Population Institute www.populationinstitute.org

Public Allies www.publicallies.org

River Bend Environmental Education Center www.riverbendeec.org

Rocky Mountain Youth Corps www.rockymountainyouthcorps.org/

Rodale Institute www.rodaleinstitute.org

San Francisco Conservation Corps ww.sfcc.org/

School for Field Studies www.fieldstudies.org

SCICON www.tcoe.org/scicon

Scott Arboretum www.scottarboretum.org

Seattle Repertory Theatre www.seattlerep.org

Slide Ranch www.slideranch.org

St. Joseph Worker Program www.csjalbany.org/index.cfm/StJosephWorkerProgram

Student Conservation Association www.thesca.org

Teach for America www.teachforamerica.org  

The Corps Network www.nascc.org/

Urban Catholic Teacher Corps www.bc.edu/content/bc/schools/lsoe/cce/uctc.html

Urban Teacher Residency United www.utrunited.org/

VIA www.viaprograms.org 

Vincentian Service Corps www.vscwest.org  

Volunteers in Service to America (VISTA) www.americorps.gov/about/programs/vista.asp

World Hunger Relief www.worldhungerrelief.org