To: Faculty colleagues

From: Strom Thacker, Dean of the Faculty

Re: Annual memo on faculty and academic program appointments and event dates

Date: July 6, 2021

I hope that your summer is off to a good start after such a difficult and tumultuous sixteen months. In keeping with previous annual memos, I'd like to pass along a few announcements and notes on the following topics:

- 2020-21 Faculty Activities Reporting
- Important dates for 2021-22
- Retirements and promotions
- Awards and endowed professor appointments
- Minerva Faculty Representatives for 2021-22
- Department chair, program director and faculty director appointments
- A year in brief review

## 2020-21 Faculty Activities Online System

The 2020-21 Faculty Activities, the Library Faculty Activities and the Triennial Merit Review (TMR) submissions will be completed via Interfolio, our new online faculty activity system that we expect to create a much less labor-intensive and streamlined reporting process. We will send out more details during the summer.

### Important dates for 2021-22

Here are some dates to hold on your calendar for the upcoming year. Please plan to attend and many thanks in advance for not scheduling meetings or events that conflict with these.

- September 13, 2021 at 1:00 pm: Opening Convocation
- September 14, 2021 at 5:00 pm: Opening Faculty Meeting
- February 24, 2022: Founders Day
- May, 2022: Steinmetz Symposium (exact date TBD; classes are cancelled)
- June 9, 2022: End-of-year Faculty Celebration
- June 12, 2022: Commencement for the class of 2022

## Retirements

Please join me in extending best wishes to our faculty colleagues who are retiring this year.

Professor	Department
Melinda Lawson	Senior Lecturer of History
Sandra Wimer	Senior Lecturer of Visual Arts
William Zwicker	William D. Williams Professor of Mathematics

### **Promotions**

Congratulations to our colleagues who will be promoted by September 1, 2021:

Promotion to Full Professor	Department
Kara Doyle	English
Robert Hislope	Political Science
Guillermina Seri	Political Science

Promotion to Senior Lecturer	Department
Brittany Belz	Theater and Dance

Promotion to Associate Professor with	Department
tenure	
Ellen Gasparovic	Mathematics
Nelia Mann	Physics and Astronomy
Jennifer Mitchell	English
Laini Nemett	Visual Arts
Heather Watson	Physics and Astronomy

## Awards and Endowed Professorship appointments

I am very pleased to announce the following appointments and awards:

Ann Anderson and Mary Carroll, Stillman Prize for Faculty Excellence in Research, 2020-21 Seyfollah Maleki, R. Gordon Gould Professor of Physics, 2021-2023 Shena McAuliffe, John D. MacArthur Assistant Professor of English, 2021-2022 Jillmarie Murphy, William D. Williams Professor of English Donald Rodbell, John and Jane Wold Professor of Geology, 2021-2026 Nicole Theodosiou, Stillman Prize for Excellence in Teaching, 2020-21 Heather Watson, Brate Advising Award, 2020-21

## Minerva Faculty Representatives for 2021-22

This year's Minerva Faculty Representatives are listed below. Please keep them in mind as contact points if you would like to host events or otherwise engage the Minervas.

Beuth House: Dianne McMullen Breazzano House: Jennifer Mitchell Golub House: Scott Kirkton

Green House: Laura MacManus-Spencer

Messa House: Christine Henseler Sorum House: Luke Dosiek Wold House: Patricia Wareh

## Department Chair and Program Director appointments

This year, we welcome the following chairs and directors who are starting new appointments:

- Samuel Amanuel, Chair, Physics and Astronomy (thanks to Seyfollah Maleki for his service)
- Karen Brison, Chair, Anthropology (thanks to Stephen Leavitt for his service)
- Andrew Burkett, Director of Science, Medicine and Technology in Culture (thanks to Mark Walker for his service)

- Rebecca Cortez, Chair, Mechanical Engineering (thanks to Andrew Rapoff for his service). She will also serve as Co-director of Nanotechnology, a position formerly held by Michael Hagerman.
- Joanne Kehlbeck, Co-Director of Biochemistry (thanks to Kristin Fox for her service)
- Leila Khatami, Chair, Mathematics (thanks to Christina Tonnesen-Friedman for her service)
- Lori Marso, Director of American Studies (thanks to Kenneth Aslakson for his service)
- Steven Rice, Chair, Biology (thanks to Kathleen LoGiudice for her service)
- John Rieffel, Chair, Computer Science (thanks to Kristina Striegnitz for her service)
- Robert Samet, Director of Latin American and Caribbean Studies (thanks to Maritza Osuna for her service)
- Krisanna Scheiter, Chair, Philosophy (thanks to Leo Zaibert for his service)
- Yijing Stehle, Co-director of Nanotechnology, a position formerly held by Michael Hagerman.

# **Faculty Director appointments**

The following is a summary of part-time academic director appointments held by faculty members. Appointments are for up to three years in length and are potentially renewable.

Position	Director	Term expiration
Director of Assessment	Ashok Ramasubramanian	8/31/2024
Director of Diversity, Equity and	Deidre Hill-Butler	8/31/2022
Inclusion/Chief Academic Diversity Officer		
Director of Engineering	Rebecca Cortez	12/31/2021
Director of Faculty Development	Kara Doyle	6/30/2024
Director of General Education	Mark Walker	8/31/2024
Director of Interdisciplinary Studies	Stephen Romero	8/31/2022
Interim Director of the Templeton Institute	Jennifer Currey	12/31/2021
for Engineering & Computer Science	·	
Director of Undergraduate Research	Heather Watson	6/30/2024

### A Difficult Year in Brief Review

On behalf of the College, and personally, I want to thank each of you for the tremendous work you all have done in support of our students and colleagues, both to keep the campus and our community safe and healthy and to protect, continue and advance Union's educational mission. As an institution, we met and overcame challenges none of us could have imagined prior to early 2020, and much of that success is thanks to you and your efforts. From the abrupt pivot in winter/spring of 2020 to the planning and implementation of our Union Where You Are plan in AY2020-21, our faculty and entire community has risen to the occasion time and time again. *Thank you*.

Despite the disruptions of and adaptations to the pandemic, we have been able to advance a number of strategic priorities this past year. Among many others, the strong work of the AAC subcouncil and task force on GenEd produced an innovative and distinctive draft new curriculum that we expect to come to the full faculty for a vote in the fall. The Templeton Institute Planning Committee, under the guidance of interim institute director Jenn Currey and project manager Nicole Marshall, is nearing completion of its report, which will inform the structure and initial work of the new institute and its leadership. Meanwhile, our shared governance committees (AAC, FEC, FRB,

liaison committees, etc.) moved with great care, diligence and alacrity in confronting the challenges associated with the pandemic while still keeping up with the normal, brisk pace of daily activity and advancing the College's long-term vision and mission.

Amid the extraordinary turmoil of the pandemic, we also sadly lost a number of retired former faculty, as well as our dear colleague Mike Hagerman. Many thanks to the students and faculty who paid tribute to Mike by organizing a special synchronous panel during the virtual Steinmetz Symposium. Now that we are able to gather again in person, I look forward to the opportunity to honor Mike's memory together soon.

Gathering together with so many of you at the recent end-of-year faculty celebration brought me enormous joy. Looking forward to more such moments come fall, I wish you all a pleasant and restorative summer.