

Harold and Ellen Nagorsky Memorial Prize Application

2021

The Harold and Ellen Nagorsky Memorial Prize was created in 2000 from the gifts of Matthew J. Nagorsky, M.D., Class of 1979, to recognize the pre-medical student in the junior class who has contributed the most to the Union College community through extracurricular activities.

The Nagorsky Prize of approximately \$1,000.00 is awarded on Prize Day in May.

How To Become a Nagorsky Prize Candidate

- 1. Juniors who plan to apply to medical school must apply to become the Nagorsky Prize Recipient.
- 2. The application should consist of a one-page personal statement describing your extra-curricular contributions to the Union College community and two letters of recommendation from a faculty member, dean, campus administrator, or someone who knows you well. The letters should speak specifically to your accomplishments and contributions to the Union College community and should be signed, dated, and on letterhead. All application materials should be sent directly to the Health Professions office via email to health-pro@union.edu with "Nagorsky Prize [Applicant's last name, first name]" in the subject of the email. Please provide your letter writers with a copy of this handout so that they know where to send their letter (it should not come through you).
- 3. Application materials are due no later than Wednesday, March 10, 2021.
- 4. The Nagorsky Prize recipient will be chosen by a committee consisting of the Director of the Health Professions Program, the Director of Student Activities, and an alumnus physician. If no strong candidate emerges, the award will not be made. Contact Professor Carol Weisse (weisse@union.edu) with questions.

Previous Harold and Ellen Nagorsky Memorial Prize Recipients

2008	Sade McKenzie '09	2014	Evan Leibovitz '15
2008	Emma Labrot '09	2015	Sebastien Gingras '16
2009	John Mahlstedt '10	2016	Audrey Hunt '17
2010	Patrick O'Hern	2017	Ayanah Dowdye '18
2011	Mital Patel '12	2018	Thomas Gagliardi '19
2012	Terence Fu '13	2019	Max Sherman '20
2013	Samantha Tyler	2020	Andrew Giordano