English Department

Congratulations to our Prize Day Winners 2021!

Publication Date

William F. Allen (1895) Essay Prize – To the senior in any department for the best essay.
Mitchell Famulare

Andrew W. Archibald (1872) Prize – To the senior earning a bachelor of arts degree with the highest scholastic standing.
Shea Delehaunty

William H. Bloom, M.D. (1945) and Jonathan R. Bloom (1988) Poetry Prize – For the best poem or series of poems by an undergraduate.
Jennifer Mutch; Madison Holley

David Brind (1982) Memorial Prize in English– To one or more outstanding senior students in English.
Mitchell Famulare, Rebekah Lindsey

Kerrie Droban (1987) Award for Writing Excellence – To a student who has demonstrated excellence in writing.
Rebekah Lindsey, Jennifer Mutch

Sarah A. Foster (2014) Memorial Prize – To a senior who demonstrates academic excellence, with first preference to a senior history major who plans to become a teacher; and a second preference to any senior who plans to become a teacher.
Jillian Flood (*English minor)

Hans Hainebach Memorial Prize in Judaica – To a student who has offered the best performance in the field of Judaica.
Melanie Goldman, Benjamin Weiss (in “Jewish Graphic Novels”)

Edward Everett Hale, Jr. Prize – For the best essay written by a sophomore or junior.
Amanda Blakeman

Eugene W. Hellmich (1923) Memorial Prize – To a senior who demonstrates excellence in mathematics and is planning to teach math.
Hayley Coakley (*double major with English)

William B. Jaffe (1926) Art Award– For exceptional achievement by an art major, marked by excellence in the study of art history, independent scholarship, and interest in the work of the department.
Lilith Haig (*English minor)