Registrar

Academic Calendar

For a listing of Academic dates and deadlines and other events on campus, please visit the Campus Calendar.

ACADEMIC CALENDAR 2020-2021 (REVISED Dec 18, 2020)

FALL TERM 2020
Aug. 17-18 Mon.-Tue. First Year International Students arrive
Aug. 17-22 Mon.-Sat. Pre-arrival belongings drop-off
Aug. 21 Friday First Year students subject to 14 day quarantine arrive
Aug. 24-25 Mon.-Tue. Returning students subject to 14 day quarantine arrive
Aug. 26-28 Wed.-Fri. OA's Pre-O leaders, returning international students arrive
Aug. 28 Friday First generation pre-orientation participants arrive
Aug. 30 Sunday Pre-orientation participants arrive
Aug. 31-Sep. 1 Mon.-Tue. First generation experience
Sep. 4-5 Fri.-Sat. Residence halls open for New Students and new Transfer students only
Sep. 5-8 Sat.-Tue. New Students and Transfer Student orientation
Sep. 6-8 Sun.-Tue. Residence halls and houses open for upperclass students
Sep. 8 Tuesday New Students & Transfer Student advising and schedule adjustments
Sep. 9 Wednesday Fall term classes begin; add/drop starts
Sep. 15 Tuesday Last day to add/drop without a late fee
Sep. 15 Tuesday Last day to add an open course without instructor's approval
Sep. 22 Tuesday Last day to finalize fall class schedule, with instructor permission to add class
Oct. 9 Friday Winter term course schedule available online
Oct. 12-30 Mon.-Fri. Academic advising for winter term courses; students consult with faculty advisers
Oct. 20 Tuesday Last day to declare a course "Pass-Fail"
Oct. 17-20 Sat.-Tue. Petition course sign-up
Oct. 21-26 Wed.-Mon. Faculty Review and Petition Course Approval
Oct. 23-24 Fri.-Sat. Virtual Homecoming and Family Weekend
Oct. 27 Tuesday Last day to drop a course without a "W"
Oct. 27-29 Tue.-Thu. Petition Course Acceptance
Nov. 2 Monday Graduation application due for Class of 2021
Nov. 2-5 Mon.-Thu. Winter term prescheduling appointments
Nov. 3 Tuesday Last day to drop a course with a "W"
Nov. 17 Tuesday Fall term classes end
Nov. 18 Wednesday Reading period
Nov. 19 Thursday Fall term exams begin
Nov. 24 Tuesday Fall term exams end
Nov. 25 Wednesday Residence halls and houses close
Dec. 2 Wednesday Fall term grades due
WINTER TERM 2021
Jan. 7 Thursday Begin Phased testing and move-in residence halls and houses
Jan. 11 Monday Winter classes begin; add/drop starts
Jan. 15 Friday Last day to add an open course without instructor's written approval
Jan. 15 Friday Last day to add/drop without a late fee
Jan. 22 Friday Last day to finalize winter class schedule, with instructor permission to add a class
Feb. 12 Friday Spring term course schedule available online
Feb. 15-Mar. 5 Mon.-Fri. Academic advising for spring term courses; students consult with faculty advisers
Feb. 19 Friday Last day to declare a course "Pass-Fail"
Feb. 20-23 Sat.-Tue. Petition course sign-up
Feb. 24-Mar. 1 Wed.-Mon. Faculty Review and Petition Course Approval
Feb. 26 Friday Last day to drop a course without a "W"
Mar. 2-4 Tue.-Thu. Petition Course Acceptance
Mar. 5 Friday Last day to drop a course with a "W"
Mar. 8-11 Mon.-Thu. Spring term prescheduling appointments
Mar. 18 Thursday Winter term classes end
Mar. 19 Friday Reading period
Mar. 22 Monday Winter term exams begin
Mar. 24 Wednesday Winter term exams end
Mar. 25 Thursday Spring break begins; residence halls remain open
Mar. 28 Sunday Spring break ends
Mar. 29 Monday Winter grades due
SPRING TERM 2021
Mar. 29 Monday Spring term classes begin; add/drop starts
Apr. 2 Friday Last day to add an open course without instructor's written approval
Apr. 2 Friday Last day to add/drop without a late fee
Apr. 9 Friday Last day to finalize spring class schedule, with instructor permission to add a class
Apr. 21 Wednesday Wellness Day; No classes held
Apr. 30 Friday Fall term course schedule available online
May 3-21 Monday Academic advising for fall term courses; students consult with faculty advisers
May 7 Friday Last day to declare a course "Pass-Fail"
May 8-11 Sat.-Tue. Petition course sign-up
May 10 Monday Registration begins for summer classes
May 12-17 Wed.-Mon. Faculty Review and Petition Course Approval
May 14 Friday Last day to drop a course without a "W"
May 14-16 Fri.-Sun. ReUnion Weekend
May 18 Tuesday Wellness Day; No classes held
May 18-20 Tue.-Thu. Petition Course Acceptance
May 21 Friday Last day to drop a course with a "W"
May 21 Friday Virtual Steinmetz Day launches; classes will be held
May 24-26 Mon.-Wed. Fall term prescheduling appointments
Jun. 4 Friday Spring term classes end
Jun. 7 Monday Spring term exams begin
Jun. 10 Thursday Spring term exams end
Jun. 11 Friday Student Housing closes at 3:00 p.m. for students not involved in Commencement
Jun. 13 Sunday Commencement
Jun. 13 Sunday Residence halls and houses close at 6:00 p.m.
Jun. 14 Monday Registration ends for summer classes
Jun. 16 Wednesday Spring grades due
Jun. 21 Monday Summer classes begin