Registration Information

Registration Procedures

  • Students can view upcoming courses in the Self-Service academic catalog.
  • Students select courses in consultation with their academic adviser and must be cleared for registration by their adviser.
  • Students can view registration dates in the academic calendar.
  • Students with holds on their accounts will not be able to register for courses until the holds are resolved
  • Students can view their registration appointment time and register for courses by logging into Self-Service.
  • Self Service help can be found here.
  • Self Service Course Catalogue can be found here.

Fourth Course Registration

Registration for a fourth course is not allowed during pre-registration unless specifically required by a student's program of study, e.g. Leadership in Medicine, and engineering majors. Eligible Union Scholars will be able to register for a fourth course after the conclusion of registration appointments. All other students will need to wait until the first day of the term to add a fourth course. Refer to “Costs and Financial Aid” for the cost for “Additional Courses/Fourth Courses”. Fourth Course Guidelines and Fourth Course Form


This process allows matriculated full-time students to take advantage of a wide range of courses offered at participating colleges and universities in the area. Cross-registration will be approved only for courses not offered at the home institution and will be limited to a maximum of half the normal course load at Union. Cross-registration will be permitted only for courses that Union normally would consider for transfer credit. Members of the agreement, in addition to Union College, are Adirondack Community College, Albany College of Pharmacy, The College of Saint Rose, Clarkson University - Capital Region Center, Empire State College, Hudson Valley Community College, Maria College, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, The Sage Colleges, Schenectady County Community College, Siena College, Skidmore College, the State University of New York at Albany, and the State University of New York at Cobleskill. Cross Registration Form

The New York Six Liberal Arts Consortium and the Cross Registration Initiative was designed to facilitate the availability of selected course offerings for students attending any one of the NY 6 member institutions. The New York Six Liberal Arts Consortium consists of the following colleges: Colgate University, Hamilton College, Hobart and William Smith Colleges, Skidmore College, St. Lawrence University and Union College. For more information on the cross registration initiative, please click here.

Data Verification process: Off-Campus Students

Off campus students and commuters are required to verify their contact information during the first week of classes for the fall, winter, and spring terms in order for our office to determine that they have returned. Preregistering for courses does not preclude students from completing this process each term nor does the failure to finalize course schedules. A $100 late fee will be charged to any student who fails to complete this process on time. All other students who reside in College owned housing will be verified by the Residence Life Office.