ReUnion 2012: A time to reconnect

Publication Date

The dedications of a new Center for Neuroscience and a Women and Gender Studies Suite, a tribute to the 150th anniversary of Taps and of course, a grand fireworks display is among the highlights of ReUnion this weekend.


More than 1,000 visitors will descend on campus for the annual celebration of Union’s graduates, which begins Thursday evening and runs through Sunday.

In addition to a number of special events, visitors will enjoy traditional favorites like the Alumni Parade, fireworks show and Gala Dinner. There will also be presentations from notable alumni in a variety of fields.

Among the highlights:

• The Women’s and Gender Studies Lounge on the third floor of Reamer Campus Center has been renovated and renamed the Valerie J. Hoffman Women’s and Gender Studies Suite as a tribute to its donor, a member of the Class of 1975. It will be dedicated Friday at 3:30 p.m.

• The Center for Neuroscience, on the third floor of Butterfield Hall, will be dedicated at 1 p.m. Saturday. The center, made possible by a grant from the National Science Foundation and the Frank Bailey Fund, includes five research laboratories, support and research training areas, and a space for faculty.

• To help mark the 150th anniversary of Taps, Jari Villanueva, a retired Air Force veteran, will give a talk on Daniel Butterfield at 11:30 a.m. Friday, in College Park Hall. Butterfield, a member of Union’s Class of 1849, is credited with conceiving Taps during the Civil War. On Saturday, Union will host a brass band concert at 9 p.m. in Memorial Chapel. The 15-piece band, comprised of faculty, students and members of the local Signature Brass Quintet, will be led by Villanueva, author of Twenty-Four Notes That Tap Deep Emotions: The History of America’s Most Famous Bugle Call. To learn more, click here.

In addition, Alumni Gold Medals are to be presented by the Alumni Council to Armand V. Feigenbaum ’42, president of General Systems of Pittsfield, Mass.; Susan Mullaney Maycock ’72, President’s Council member; and Calvin Welch ’62, retired vice president of First National Bank of Scotia. Mary Carroll ’86, professor of chemistry, will receive the Faculty Meritorious Service Award.

Outstanding Engineering Alumni Awards are to be presented to Sherri Buchardt ’02, Peter Chapman Hayden ’82, David A. Pacyna ’93, Victoria A. Rockwell ’78, Glenn P. Sanders ’04 and Andrew P. Stone ’02.