ReUnion 2012 a wrap

Publication Date

Spectacular weekend weather helped make ReUnion 2012 an enjoyable experience for more than 1,000 visitors who attended the annual celebration of Union’s graduates.

Beginning Thursday night and continuing through Sunday, visitors enjoyed traditional favorites like the Alumni Parade, a grand fireworks display and Gala Dinner. There were also presentations from notable alumni in a variety of fields.

reUnion fireworks

Fireworks light up the sky around the Nott Memorial Saturday night.

Among the highlights:

• Office space in the Sadock Women’s and Gender Studies Lounge on the third floor of Reamer Campus Center was renovated and named the Valerie J. Hoffman Women’s and Gender Studies Suite as a tribute to its donor, a member of the Class of 1975. To read about Friday’s dedication, click here.

• The Center for Neuroscience, on the third floor of Butterfield Hall, was dedicated Saturday. he center, made possible by a grant from the National Science Foundation and the Frank Bailey Fund, includes five research laboratories, support and research training areas, and a space for faculty. To learn more, click here.

• Two stainless steel time capsules filled with memorabilia, letters, articles, air samples and other artifacts to document the addition of the Peter Irving Wold Center were unveiled Saturday. They were designed by Walter Chin '12 and built by Roland Pierson and others in the machine shop. One will be opened in 50 years (2062); the other, 100 years (2112).

• To help mark the 150th anniversary of Taps, Jari Villanueva, a retired Air Force veteran, gave a talk on Daniel Butterfield, a member of Union’s Class of 1849 credited with conceiving Taps during the Civil War. On Saturday, Villanueva led a 15-piece brass band, comprised of faculty, students and members of the local Signature Brass Quintet, in Memorial Chapel to celebrate the 150th anniversary of Taps. To learn more, click here.

In addition, Alumni Gold Medals were presented by the Alumni Council to Armand V. Feigenbaum ’42, president of General Systems of Pittsfield, Mass.; Susan Mullaney Maycock ’72, President’s Council member; and Calvin Welch ’62, retired vice president of First National Bank of Scotia. Mary Carroll ’86, professor of chemistry, received the Faculty Meritorious Service Award.

Outstanding Engineering Alumni Awards were presented to Sherri Buchardt ’02, Peter Chapman Hayden ’82, David A. Pacyna ’93, Victoria A. Rockwell ’78, Glenn P. Sanders ’04 and Andrew P. Stone ’02.

To find out about ReUnion 2013, click here.