Violinist Stefan Jackiw makes Concert Series debut

Publication Date

Violinist Stefan Jackiw makes his recital debut

Stefan Jackiw

in Memorial Chapel as part of the Union College Concert Series Sunday, March 24 at 3 p.m.

Joined by pianist Anna Polonsky, Jackiw begins the program with Stravinsky’s Suite Italienne (an arrangement of his popular Pulcinella Suite), and follows with Brahms’s classic Sonata No. 1 in G Major, Op. 78. The second half of the program kicks off with the regional premiere of composer David Fulmer’s L’Arc du Suspension and closes with Strauss’s rhapsodic Sonata in E-flat Major, Op. 18.

An Avery Fisher Career Grant recipient, Jackiw has performed with major orchestras such as the Boston, Chicago, and San Francisco symphonies; the Cleveland and Philadelphia orchestras; and the New York Philharmonic. This season, he will make his Carnegie Hall recital debut and perform with the Detroit Symphony, Royal Philharmonic, Netherlands
Philharmonic, BBC Scottish Symphony and Melbourne Symphony.

A former member of the Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center’s Chamber Music Two program, Polonsky has appeared with the Moscow Virtuosi, Buffalo Philharmonic, Columbus and Memphis symphonies, and Chamber Orchestra of Philadelphia, St. Luke’s Chamber Ensemble and others.

Individual tickets for the Concert Series are $25 or $10 for area students, and are free to members of the campus community. Subscription packages offer significant savings. For information, call (518) 388-6080 or visit