ReUnion 2014 a time to celebrate

Publication Date

More than 1,500 visitors are expected on campus for the annual celebration of the College’s graduates. Highlights of ReUnion 2014, which begins Friday, May 30 and continues through Sunday, June 1, include a chance to meet the National Championship hockey team.

“There are dozens of wonderful events happening throughout the weekend,” said Rhonda Engvold, assistant director of Alumni Relations. “Each one offers an opportunity to rediscover Union, revel in your own college memories and reconnect with friends to see where life has taken them.”

Visitors can enjoy traditional activities like the Alumni Parade (10:30 a.m. Saturday), the fireworks display (10 p.m. Saturday) and the Gala Dinner (6 p.m. Saturday), in addition to a number of events special to ReUnion 2014.

Among the highlights:

• Family Picnic and Kids Carnival (Noon Saturday, Alexander Field): Enjoy a classic picnic with a variety of entertainment and festive activities for the whole family, and don’t miss your chance to meet the NCAA Division I National Champions. Members of the hockey team – and the trophy – will be on hand during the picnic. Registration and payment required.

• Steinway Piano Dedication (Noon Saturday, Memorial Chapel): Come see the gorgeous Steinway piano provided by the generosity of Kelly Williams ’86. The instrument is played by world-class musicians in the College’s Chamber Concert Series, and by talented Union students and faculty.

• William “Bill” Thomas Remembrance (5 p.m. Friday, Breazzano House): Bill Thomas, professor emeritus of French and director of International Programs, will be remembered for his lasting impact on Union and its students.

Also at ReUnion, the Alumni Council will present Alumni Gold Medals to Dr. Donald Bentrovato ’69, a retired genitourinary surgeon; Robert Danziger ’89, managing director of Deutsche Bank Securities Inc.; and Dr. Seymour Thickman ’44, a physician who worked for the Veteran’s Administration Hospital at Fort McKenzie (Wyoming). Clifford Brown, the Robert Porter Patterson Professor of Government, will receive the Faculty Meritorious Service Award.