Union elects new Phi Beta Kappa members

Publication Date

The College’s Chapter of Phi Beta Kappa recently announced the election of new members. From the Class of 2017 are: Kathryn Evans, Chelsea Kaiser, Rebeka Kelmar and Emily Su.

From the Class of 2016 are Aude Bechu, Jillian Callanan, Max Caplan, Janine Cerutti, Jenna Corcoran, Kyra DeTone, Darby Dietrich, Rose Dumbrigue, Sebastien Gingras, Christopher Graff, Nathaniel Hawthorne, Dorothy Hazan, Maioqing (Andie) Jia, Tristan Johnson, Jakub Kaczmarzyk, Matthew Kaye, Ilan Levine, Colleen Lovely, Emily Myers, Avery Novitch, Emily Pastore, Mihir Patel, Holly Schwab, Stanley Soroka, Joshua Tryon, Nealay Vasavda, Parth Visrodia, Erin Wade, Michael Warrener, Maeve Williams and Ariella Yazdani.

They join the following members of the Class of 2016 elected last year: Pierre Castro, Ryan Muther, Henry Scherck, Cailin Schmeer and Ryan Whelpley.

Juniors and seniors of academic distinction who are candidates for the B.A. or general B.S. degree are eligible for membership in Phi Beta Kappa. Election is based on scholarship and character, with particular attention given to intellectual maturity and breadth.

Union’s Phi Beta Kappa chapter, Alpha of New York, was established in 1817 and is the fifth oldest in the country. Election to membership is one of the highest distinctions given for academic achievement