People in the news - November 10, 2016

Publication Date

Morgan Clark '17, Scott LaBrake, senior lecturer of physics, and Michael Vineyard, the Frank and Marie Louise Bailey Professor of Physics, attended the Conference on Applications of Accelerators in Research and Industry in Fort Worth, Texas. They presented recent research on the Union College Ion-Beam Analysis Laboratory. Clark presented a poster, “Ion-Beam Analysis of Artificial Turf,” which won a CAARI 2016 Award of Excellence. She also was awarded a competitive CAARI travel grant to attend the conference.

LaBrake organized and chaired a session, “Educational Experiments and Techniques.” Vineyard gave a talk, “Undergraduate Research and Training in Ion-Beam Analysis of Environmental Materials.” In addition to Clark and LaBrake, Sajju Chalise '19, Drew McCalmont ‘16, Brendan McGuire '18, Iseinie Mendez '17, Heather Watson, assistant professor of physics, and Josh Yoskowitz '16were co-authors on the paper.

Submit your news to