Environmental Action Media Lab screens projects

Publication Date

More than 370 people gathered at Proctor’s GE Theater Tuesday to attend Film Studies’ Environmental Action Media Lab sustainable banquet and screenings. The media-making initiative had 40 students create short films to move people to action on pressing environmental concerns. From reusable batteries to sustainable periods the films not only informed but challenged the audience to alter behaviors to help save our planet.

“I'm very proud of this group of talented students,” said Professor Jim de Seve of Film Studies. “They had to work on four separate film projects during the term in addition to coming up with an action plan, attending five field trips or other environmentally related events and writing detailed critiques of each others’ work. It was an intense class, but they rose to the challenge."

The standing-room-only proceedings were opened by emcees Jaqueline Sharry ’18 and Paige Tepke ’18. The duo introduced President Stephen Ainlay who spoke about Union’s continued commitment to a better environment. Also speaking was Professor Jeff Corbin from Biological Sciences who spoke about Union’s sustainability initiatives that make the College among the top sustainable campuses in the country. In addition, three student speakers spoke including Hannah Josovitz ‘19, Hayley Coakley ’21 and Claire Lockwood ’20 who each gave their view on why young people need to be engaged in efforts for a clean environment.

Awards were given out to films for Best Technical, Best Messaging and Most Original by a panel of 11 judges comprised of women faculty members as well as Julie Lohnes, Director of the Mandeville Gallery. The faculty judges were: Jennifer Bishop, Patsy Culbert, Jenny Fredricks, Kathleen LoGiudice, Katherine Lynes, Joyce Madancy, Therese McCarty, Teresa Meade, Jenelle Troxell, Anouk Verheyden-Gillikin and Pattie Wareh.

The top awards went to:

  • Best Technical: "Through My Eyes" by Hayley Coakley ’21, Sara Covelli ’18, Kevin Jordan ’18
  • Best Messaging: "Sustainable Periods" by Stephen Camarra ’20, Jordan Isaacs ’19 and Kira Wilson ’20
  • Most Original: "Libertine" by Luke Dyer ’18, AJ Hubbard ’18 and Kevin Jordan ’18

Films average three minutes and are viewable on VIMEO

All the student filmmakers for EAML pictured below with Professor Jim de Seve are: Emily Andrews ‘20, Trevor Atkins ‘20, Chelsea Rodriguez ‘28, Haley Coakley ‘21, Claire Lockwood ‘20, Jacob Pessin ‘19, Noah Zaslow ‘20, Anna Gagnion '20, Emerson Levy ‘21, Alexa Rosen ‘19, Cameron Bechtold ‘20, Abigail Golodik ‘18, Stephen Camarra ‘20, Kira Wilson ‘20, Matt Mintz ‘18, Sara Covelli ‘18, Jaqueline Sharry ‘18, Dan Wajda ‘19, Hayden Paneth ‘20, Rashawn Baldwin ‘20, Hope Relly-Cobb ‘18, Jordan Isaacs ‘19, Paige Tepke ‘18, Kelsey Delaney ‘21, Hannah Josovitz ‘19, Hope Noonan-Stoner ‘20, Marie-Amelie Morange ‘21, Luke Dyer ‘18, AJ Hubbard ‘18, Scott Hojlo ‘20, Phoebe Hallahan ‘20, Matt Polsinello ‘20, Joe Ganim ‘19, Bennie Lopez ‘21, Del Schunk ‘20, Andrew Schwartz ‘19, Kevin Jordan ‘18, China Campagnolo ‘20, Connor Horan ‘19 and Emily Caruso ‘21.

Photo: Kevin Jordan ’18

The Environmental Action Media Lab