New Stillman Prize to honor faculty research

Publication Date

The College has added a new prize to recognize a faculty member for outstanding achievement in research.

The Stillman Prize for Faculty Excellence in Research has been established through the generosity of Lila and Abbott Stillman ’69. The new award complements the Stillman Prize for Faculty Excellence in Teaching, which was funded by Abbott Stillman with assistance from Allan Stillman, his father, and David I. Stillman’72, his brother. The award was created in honor of Abraham Stillman, grandfather of Abbott Stillman.

“We are grateful for Abbott Stillman’s generous gift and continued support of the College,” said Strom Thacker, the Stephen J. and Diane K. Ciesinski Dean of Faculty and Vice President for Academic Affairs. “The Stillman Prize for Excellence in Teaching is the highest teaching honor we bestow on our faculty and is a treasured distinction earned by one faculty member per year.”

Thacker said the new prize will bestow the same kind of honor on the College’s faculty for their outstanding research.

“We are excited to bring an equal distinction to honor our faculty’s research," he said. "Union boasts a world-class faculty made up of stellar teacher-scholars, and these awards together demonstrate our and the Stillmans’ ongoing commitment to the crucial role that each of these activities plays in advancing knowledge and understanding,” he said.

The Stillman Prize for Excellence in Teaching was first awarded in 1995 to Mary K. Carroll ‘86, the Dwane W. Crichton Professor of Chemistry. Joanne Kehlbeck, associate professor of chemistry, was the most recent recipient.

The inaugural Stillman Prize for Excellence in Research will be awarded in the 2019-20 academic year.