Phi Beta Kappa inducts new members

Publication Date

The College’s chapter of Phi Beta Kappa recently announced the new inductees to the honor society.

President Stephen C. Ainlay has been named an honorary member.

From the class of 2019:

Allegra Dawes, Thomas Gagliardi, Samantha Miller and Stephanie Tate.

From the Class of 2018:

Saad Akhtar, Elyse Clark, Melissa Brauner, Olivia Campochiaro, Andrew Cassarino, Mallory Croak, Anton Dabaghian, Christina Dykas, Michael Gagliardi, Yuan (Violet) Gao, William Garner, Aaron Gordon, Neel Gupta, Andrew Hubbard, Francis Kailey, Lakhena Leang, Abadie Ludlam, Steven Maksymowych, Jessica Maung, Tuan Pham, Hope Relly-Cobb, Elizabeth Ricci, Jacqueline Sharry, Clara Shealy, Vamshek Srinivasan, Samantha St Marie, Hallie Stone, Emily Sullivan, Katherine Tighe, Megan Wells, William Wykoff and Christopher Yao.

They join the following members of the Class of 2018 elected last year:

Gianluca Avanzato, Andrew Forte, Aidan Pieper, Rebecca Shamah, Jason Turner and Maria Van Nostrand.

Juniors and seniors of academic distinction who are candidates for the B.A. or general B.S. degree are eligible for membership in Phi Beta Kappa. Election is based on scholarship and character, with particular attention given to intellectual maturity and breadth.

Union’s Phi Beta Kappa chapter, Alpha of New York, was established in 1817 and is the fifth oldest in the country. Election to membership is one of the highest distinctions given for academic achievement.