Faculty news and announcements

Publication Date

Learn more about faculty promotions, awards and appointments heading into the 2020-21 academic year.

Promotion to full professor:

  • Cay Anderson Hanley, Psychology
  • Joshua Hart, Psychology
  • Leila Khatami, Mathematics
  • Jillmarie Murphy, English
  • Ashok Ramasubramanian, Mechanical Engineering

Promotion to associate professor with tenure:

  • Luke Dosiek, Electrical, Computer and Biomedical Engineering
  • Tommaso Gazzarri, Classics
  • Sheri Lullo, Visual Arts
  • Robert Samet, Anthropology
  • Nicholas Webb, Computer Science

Appointments and awards:

  • Charles Batson, Florence B. Sherwood Professor of History and Culture
  • Lewis Davis, Thomas Armstrong Professor of Economics
  • Kristin Fox, Florence B. Sherwood Professor of Physical Sciences
  • Ali Hamed, John D. MacArthur Assistant Professor of Mechanical Engineering, 2020-2021
  • Scott Kirkton, Stillman Prize for Faculty Excellence in Teaching, 2019-20
  • Therese McCarty, Donald C. Brate Distinguished Advising Prize, 2019-20
  • Stacie Raucci, Frank Bailey Professor of Classics
  • Steven Rice, Florence B. Sherwood Professor of Life Sciences
  • Carol Weisse, Ronald M. Obenzinger Professor of Psychology
  • Leo Zaibert, Stillman Prize for Faculty Excellence in Research, 2019-20, and William D. Williams Professor of Philosophy, Law and Humanities

Academic Affairs also welcomes the following chairs and directors who are starting new appointments:

  • Lewis Davis, chair, Economics
  • Kristin Fox, co-director, Biochemistry
  • Joanne Kehlbeck, chair, Chemistry
  • Stephen Leavitt, chair, Anthropology
  • Daniel Mosquera, chair, Modern Languages and Literatures
  • Maritza Osuna, director of Latin American and Caribbean Studies