Phi Beta Kappa inducts new members

Publication Date

The Union College Chapter of Phi Beta Kappa announced the election of its new members. Juniors and seniors of academic distinction who are candidates for the B.A. or general B.S. degree are eligible for membership in Phi Beta Kappa. Election is based on scholarship and character, with particular attention given to intellectual maturity and breadth. Union’s Phi Beta Kappa chapter, Alpha of New York, was established in 1817 and is the fifth oldest in the country. Election to membership is one of the highest distinctions given for academic achievement.

From the Class of 2023:

Trisha Agrawal, Samhita Bheemireddy, Caitlin Boice, Alice Cheng, Rebecca Clayman, Ronan Coughlin, Hannah Crodelle, Maeve Daby, Augustus D'Amore, Zoe Flessas-Finocche, Maya Gempler, Matthew Giarratana, Cole Hartman, Alexis Henrikson, Melanie Klugman, Haley Martuscello, Carly Mattice, Chloe Metcalfe, Abigail Mitty, Muhammad Talha Mushtaq, Raney Newman, Aidan O'Brien, Emily Olenik, Jillian Ramey, Christopher Ringer, Madeline Rioux, Dante Sasso, Karson Saunders, Fiona Shyne, Abigail Smith, Alexandra Snyder, Hailey Stoltenberg, Christine Swanson, Daniel Tyebkhan, Lily Wainwright and Fiona Xu.

From the Class of 2024:

Elaine Fryer, Katelyn Hirnak, Charlie McVicker, Grace Nicol, Meghan Piser, Grace Stearns and Mayah Teplitskiy.

They join the following members of the Class of 2023 elected last year:

Matthew Beazoglou, Jing Chen, Celia Lane and Shizhe Li.