Union elects new PBK members

Publication Date

The College’s Chapter of Phi Beta Kappa recently announced the election of new members.

From the Class of 2016 are: Pierre Castro, Ryan Muther, Henry Scherck, Cailin Schmeer and Ryan Whelpley.

From the Class of 2015 are: Matthew Anisfeld, Travis Barker, Ram Batta, Devin Bittner, Maryssa Brogis, Yi Cao, Hannah Coffin, Emily Crampe, Michael Donadio, Anna Flores, Mary Beth Gadarowski , Christopher Garibaldi, Yaqi Gao, Shayna Han, Karl Hetzke, Song My Hoang, Julia Hotz, Lindsey Hunt, Alexander Jaksic, Philip Kretschmer, Caitlin Lentlie, Elizabeth Magas, Molly Maloney, Tamara Maravalli, Tara Metzger, Jakob Moran, Christine Murphy, Thomas Noll, Nathaniel Onnen, Daniel Pallies, Jonathan Poli, Chetna Prasad, Lacey Reimer, Lucas Rivers, Mary Suttie, Ian Walters, Ran Wang, Julie Warren and Eva Zimmerman.

They join the following members of the Class of 2015 elected last year: Stephen DiIorio, Meaghan Jain and Joshua Kline.

Juniors and seniors of academic distinction who are candidates for the B.A. or general B.S. degree are eligible for membership in Phi Beta Kappa. Election is based on scholarship and character, with particular attention given to intellectual maturity and breadth.

Union’s Phi Beta Kappa chapter, Alpha of New York, was established in 1817 and is the fifth oldest in the country. Election to membership is one of the highest distinctions given for academic achievement.