Phi Beta Kappa inducts new members

Publication Date

The Union College Chapter of Phi Beta Kappa announced the election of new members.

Phi Beta Kappa

From the Class of 2019:

Abigail Baxter, Alicia Belcher, Hayley Bennett, Matthew Carrigan, Victoria Carter, Irving Cortes-Martinez, Sara Covelli, Brianna Cummings, Christie Dionisos, Alexander Ellenthal, Caroline Everts, Katrina Francis, Lynn Guo, Kristie Kaczmarek, Melaina Khudari, Sahil Khullar, Arianna Kosakowski, Brian Lee, Nicholas Lockwood, Julian Mak, Maha Mian, Heidi O'Hora, Talia Paradiso, Marc Perlman, Robert Righi, Beejit Sarker, Sapan Shah, Virali Shah, Emma Sprotbery, Mitchell Toolan, Shannon West, Cameron Yang and Niuniu Zhang.

From the Class of 2020:

Victoria Dafniotis, Jonathan Hanna, Ngoc Minh Le, Kara Leyden, Hope Noonan-Stoner, Meghan Reilly, Caroline Ristaino and Ian Scilipoti.

They join the following members of the Class of 2019 elected last year:

Allegra Dawes, Thomas Gagliardi, Samantha Miller and Stephanie Tate

Juniors and seniors of academic distinction who are candidates for the B.A. or general B.S. degree are eligible for membership in Phi Beta Kappa. Election is based on scholarship and character, with particular attention given to intellectual maturity and breadth. Union’s Phi Beta Kappa chapter, Alpha of New York, was established in 1817 and is the fifth oldest in the country. Election to membership is one of the highest distinctions given for academic achievement.