Academic Affairs

Stillman Prizes

Stillman Prize for Excellence in Teaching

The Stillman Prize was created by Abbott L. Stillman '69, member of the College's Board of Trustees, David Stillman '72 and Allan Stillman in honor of Abraham Stillman, father and grandfather. Faculty members are nominated by students for the prize, which is awarded to a faculty member each year who makes the classroom a place that combines excitement, joy, and challenge. The winner is chosen by the Committee on Teaching and Advising (COTA) from a list of finalists after interviews with students and a review of supporting letters. The winner will be announced at the Commencement ceremony and awarded at the Opening Convocation.

The 2022-2023 Stillman Prize for Excellence in Teaching is awarded to Timothy Stablein, Associate Professor of Sociology.

  • Past Stillman Teaching Prize Recipients
    Year Name Department
    2022 Maritza M. Osuna, PhD, Senior Lecturer Spanish and Hispanic Studies


    Professor Nicole Theodosiou Biology


    Professor Scott Kirkton Biology
    2019 Professor Ericka Nelson-Mukherjee

    Modern Languages & Literatures

    2018 Professor Jeffrey Corbin Biology
    2017 Professor Joanne Kehlbeck Chemistry
    2016 Professor William Keat Mechanical Engineering
    2015 Professor Claire Bracken English
    2014 Professor Andrew Morris History
    2013 Professor Carol Weisse Psychology
    2012 Professor Eshragh Motahar Economics
    2011 Professor Lori Marso Political Science
    2010 Professor Laurie Tyler Chemistry
    2009 Professor William Zwicker Mathematics
    2008 Professor Harold Fried Economics
    2007 Professor Rebecca Surman Physics and Astronomy
    2006 Professor Kenneth DeBono Psychology

    2005 Professor Charles Batson Modern Languages
    2004 Professor Hugh Jenkins English
    2003 Professor Steven Sargent History

    Professor Davide Cervone

    2001 Professor Byron Nichols Political Science
    2000 Professor Peter Heinegg English

    Professor Bonney MacDonald


    Professor Alan Taylor


    Professor Ashraf Ghaly

    Civil Engineering


    Professor John Garver



    Professor Mary Carroll


Stillman Prize for Faculty Excellence in Research

The Union College faculty are a community of teacher-scholars, and their excellence in teaching is matched by that in scholarship. The Stillman Prize for Faculty Excellence in Research was also established by Abbott Stillman and the Stillman Family. This prize is awarded annually to a tenured member of the faculty selected by the Faculty Research Fund Committee from faculty nominations to honor excellence in research and scholarship over the preceding three-year period.

The 2022-2023 Stillman Prize for Faculty Excellence in Research is awarded to Professor Donald T. Rodbell, John & Jane Wold Professor of Geosciences.

  • Past Stillman Research Prize Recipients
    Year Name Department
    2022 Professor Jillmarie Murphy English
    2021 Professor Mary Carroll Chemistry
    2021 Professor Ann Anderson Mechanical Engineering
    2020 Professor Leo Zaibert Philosophy
    2019 Professor Lori Marso Political Science