Campus Diversity & Inclusion

Presidential Committee on Diversity, Equity and Inclusion

Employing best practices, theories and benchmarking, the Presidential Committee on Diversity, Equity and Inclusion focuses on creating systemic and sustainable change at Union College. Working collaboratively across campus, the Committee assesses and implements diversity initiatives to help create an inclusive and equitable campus climate for all students, faculty and staff.

The Presidential Committee on Diversity, Equity and Inclusion also leads work to reflect a globalized society, increase democratic outcomes, and promote citizenship engagement and cross-cultural understanding. The work is essential to achieving the Union’s mission to provide for every student a liberal education that emphasizes integration, innovation, inclusion and reflection.

Committee's Goals

The Presidential Committee on Diversity, Equity and Inclusion guides the College to meet its objectives in building an inclusive and equitable learning community by:

  • Identifying procedural gaps that impact institutional practices and providing recommendations to create sustainable change
  • Enhancing awareness of diversity, equity and inclusion issues that impact us as a learning community
  • Focusing on accessibility and visibility of programming, events and functions of community engagement.

Committee's Charges

Working with President Harris and the Chief Diversity Officers, the Committee has two main charges for 2021 - 2022

  • Conduct a digital audit pertinent to the subcommittee's area identifying what institutional committees, policies, procedures, and programming; evaluate effectiveness and accessibility of information gathered.
  • Provide specific strategic goal(s), recommended action(s), resource(s) needed to achieve objectives

Presidential Committee on Diversity, Equity and Inclusion

Executive Committee Members

  • Dru Alvez, Chief Diversity Officer for Student and Institutional Success/Director of Intercultural Affairs
  • Michele Angrist, Stephen J. and Diane K. Ciesinski Dean of the Faculty and Vice President for Academic Affairs
  • Darcy Czajka, Vice President and Chief of Staff
  • Tye Deines, Chief Human Resources Officer
  • Annette Diorio, Vice President for Student Affairs and Dean of Students
  • David Harris, President and Executive Committee Chair
  • Francesca Callahan, Chief Diversity Officer for Employee and Institutional Success/Director of Talent Acquisition
  • Len Schlegel, Director of Institutional Research/Union Staff Council Co-chair
  • Mercedes Susi, Senior Associate Director of Sponsored Programs & Faculty Fellowships/Union Staff Council Co-Chair
  • Gwyneth Sultan ’23, Student Forum President
  • Cherrice Traver, David Falk & Elynor Rudnick-Falk Professor of Computer Engineering/Liaison Committee for Campus Diversity Representative
  • Patricia Wareh, Associate Professor of English/Liaison Committee for Campus Diversity Representative

Working Committee Members

  • Dru Alvez, CDO, Working Committee co-chair
  • Emily Belewich, Athletics Compliance Officer
  • Francesca Callahan CDO, Working Committee co-chair
  • Vernon Castillo, Senior Associate Dean of Admission
  • Tom Constantine, Interim Director of Campus Safety
  • Kara Doyle, Interim Dean of Academic Departments and Programs/ Director of Faculty Development, Academic Affairs Director of the Minerva Program (once hired)
  • Damond Heath, Senior Associate Director, Alumni & Parent Engagement/Director of DEIB Initiatives, College Relations
  • Zach Kaiser, Assistant Director for Fraternity & Sorority Life
  • Haba Kiiza ’25, Student Forum Vice President of Intercultural Affairs
  • Mark Martinez, Interim Director of the Minerva's
  • Jennifer Mitchell, Assistant Dean for Diversity, Equity, & Inclusion in Academic Affairs
  • Blair Raymond, Director of Strategic Initiatives and External Relations
  • Leah Rosen, Chief Marketing Officer
  • Denise Snyder, Director of Learning Design and Digital Innovation/Academic Affairs Campus Diversity Office Liaison
  • Mary Simeoli, Title IX Coordinator and Director of Equal Opportunity