Mathematics Department

Departmental Awards and Honors

The Martin Terry Resch Prize

The Martin Terry Resch Prize is awarded annually to “the senior who shows the greatest promise for advanced study in pure or applied mathematics.” The 2019 winners are Allegra Dawes, Zongliang Ji, and Robert Righi. Past winners include:

  • Jason Turner (2018)
  • Rebeka Kelmar (2017)
  • Miaoqing Jia, Tristan Johnson (2016)
  • Ran Wang and Xuanhan Zhao (2015)
  • Jordan Hirsh and Teresa Crasto (2014)
  • Tokuei Higashino and Wei Yu (2013)
  • Erin Whitney (2012)
  • Peter Bonventre and Steven Neier (2011)

Eugene W. Hellmich (1923) Memorial Prize

The Eugene W. Hellmich (1923) Memorial Prize is awarded annually to “seniors who demonstrate excellence in mathematics and are planning to teach math.” The 2019 winners are Julia Greene and Danielle Gregg. Past winners include:

  • Cassandra Call, and Celia Condrick (2018)
  • Melissa Epstein (2017)
  • Teresa Crasto (2014)
  • Victoria Frisbee (2013)
  • Katie Schuff and Kendal Schwartz (2012)
  • Courtney Phillips (2011)
  • Foyroj Kabir, Molly Maguire, Benjamin Miles, and Matthew Zawodniak (2010)

Pi Mu Epsilon

Pi Mu Epsilon is “a non-secret honor society whose purpose is the promotion and recognition of scholarly activity in the mathematical sciences among students at the academic institutions that have been chartered as chapters of the society.” In 2019 the following Union students were inducted as new members:

  • Qinying Chen
  • Brooke Cleveland
  • Bhuwan Gokhool
  • Jillian Guthrie
  • Tianjian Kong
  • Reid Nichols
  • Joseph Palko
  • Zachary Porat
  • Edwina Rasmussen
  • Conor Willsie
  • Oumou Zakaria