Engineering at Union Best Science Lab Facilities
Based on student ratings of their school's science lab facilities
(Princeton Review)

ELE Past Symposia

The symposium has been bringing together academics and industry representatives interested in the integration of engineering, technology and the traditional liberal arts for the past 14 years. We have been honored to host distinguished keynote speakers each year as summarized below.

Past Keynote Speakers

  • 2021: Dr. Jenna P. Carpenter, Dean and Professor of School of Engineering, Campbell University; Dr. Youngmoo Kim, Director of the Expressive and Creative Interaction Technologies (ExCITe) Center, Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Drexel University; and Shani Sandy, Design Executive, IBM Z
  • 2019: Dr. Jianmin Qu, Dean of Tufts University School of Engineering and Karol Family Professor in the Department of Mechanical Engineering
  • 2018: Dr. Lynn Pasquerella, President of the Association of American Colleges & Universities
  • 2017: Dr. Henry Petroski, Aleksander S. Vesic Professor of Civil Engineering, Duke University
  • 2016: Dr. Freeman A. Hrabowski III, President of the University of Maryland, Baltimore County
  • 2015: Dr. Hod Lipson, Professor of Engineering, Columbia University
  • 2014: Dr. Maria Klawe, President, Harvey Mudd College
  • 2013: Dr. Jamshed Bharucha, President, The Cooper Union for the Advancement of Science and Art
  • 2012: Dr. Charles M. Vest, President of the National Academy of Engineering and President Emeritus of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • 2011: Dr. David Ferrucci, IBM Fellow
  • 2010: Dr. Richard K. Miller, President Franklin W. Olin College of Engineering and Dr. Thanassis Rikakis, Director, Arts Media and Engineering Program, Arizona State University
  • 2009: Dr. Lewis M. Duncan, President, Rollins College; Dr. Diane P. Michelfelder, Professor of Philosophy at Macalester College, and President for the Society for Philosophy and Technology; and Dr. Braden R. Allenby, Professor of Environmental Engineering, and of Law, Arizona State University, and President of the International Society for Industrial Ecology
  • 2008: Dr. Stephen Ainlay, President of Union College; Dr. Carol Christ, President of Smith College; Dr. Lance Schachterle, Associate Provost, Worcester Polytechnic Institute; and Dr. Domenico Grasso, Dean of the College of Engineering and Mathematics, University of Vermont